love painting rainbows

living love and creating rainbows

oh my gosh, I’m running… July 25, 2011

Filed under: Discovering Health and Fun — lovepaintingrainbows @ 6:07 pm

Any of you who know me pretty well may have experienced these words exiting my mouth, “I despise running with all of my being.” This is a little bit of an issue in our home because Ben loves running and wants to run with me… He has tried many times to get me to run “just six little steps!” and I stubbornly refuse. This does not go over well (and both being a first born doesn’t help the situation). But this is not without good reasoning, you see, I have an injury still because of middle school track, which is also when asthma started to plague me. (The asthma is now gone, but that is a whole other story.) See, I told you there was perfectly good reasoning.

Then one day Ben starts reading this book called Born to Run by Christopher McDougall and becomes even MORE obsessed with running… *barf*. He tells me I should read it and I smile sweetly and say, “Ok.” with a tone that says “Yeah, right. I am not even touching that book.” Then one day the subtitle catches my eye: A Hidden Tribe, Superathletes, and the Greatest Race the World Has Never Seen. Ok, Ben’s not around, maybe I’ll just check out the first couple pages… famous last words, right? 120 pages later guess what I’m doing? Barefoot running! Yeah, apparently that’s all the hype right now, but I didn’t know anything about it until this book. And, get ready… I actually liked it!! Amazing, I know. But I tried it how they describe it and it felt good and I wasn’t panting like a black Alaskan Malamute in a Texas heat wave! It was beautiful!

Now Ben and I are learning about all of these wonderful facts on the incredible human body and re-defining how we think about shoes and feet (all with calves that are cursing me, but I know that in the end, they will be oh-so-beautiful). It’s so fascinating. So, if you want, you should check out this book and barefoot running. And for me to be recommending any of this should be proof enough that this is really awesome. 🙂

Love, Alisha

P.S. Wait until the path is under 100 degrees before trying…

 

6 Responses to “oh my gosh, I’m running…”

  1. Jamie Whetmore Says:

    I’ve been thinking if I ever did run (I hate it too) I would try barefoot…or somehow afford those expensive (but awesome looking) toe shoes. Thanks for sharing this, it shows hope for a hater-of-running like me.

  2. Jamie Whetmore Says:

    Oh, and I forgot to mention, I opened up this page and was confused, I thought I clicked the wrong button because I use the exact same background on my blog. weird, but understandable, it is pretty.

  3. Jeremy’s cousin went barefoot in a triathlon last August. He made the Hutch News. 🙂 http://www.hutchnews.com/Localregional/salty-dog–2

  4. Jeremy has a pair of the Vibram Five Fingers that he runs in.


Leave a Reply

