love painting rainbows

living love and creating rainbows

Milk, Milk, the Magical… fat?? July 30, 2011

Filed under: Discovering Health and Fun — lovepaintingrainbows @ 6:28 pm

The other day I met a really cool gal and we were talking and some how got on the subject of raw milk. Not too surprising since Ben and I and most of our friends love it! Anyway, she found it fascinating and to try some and I thought, ‘hmm, maybe people just haven’t heard about it and love to try it!’. I know I have talked about this on Facebook before, but I thought I would share on my blog some info. and good sources to check out.

It is SO delicious and creamy and fulfilling and wonderful and healthy! I know people who have been EXTREMELY lactose intolerant, but after drinking raw milk had NO side effects!! (except for feeling good and happy) It is full of good fats (the kind that builds our brains) as well as protein and enzymes. I have had lots of people say to me, “Yeah, well if it wasn’t so fattening I would probably try it, but I need to lose weight.” Ok people, here is some slightly embarrassing news that should ease your minds… Ben and I go through SEVEN gallons of milk per week! And I’m happy to report that neither of us weigh 500 pounds… or even 200 pounds for that matter. I’m not saying that everyone should drink that much, but if you feel like it is good for you and you want to— go for it! Also, living in Kansas is the best because you can get it in these parts for only $2.50!! Even cheaper than the milk that sucks nutrients out of your body! (Can you believe we pay for that to happen?)

The main reason pasteurized milk is no good is because they also homogenize it. This process depletes the part of the milk that contains the enzymes that lets our bodies digest it properly. Then, because it also kills all of the vitamins and minerals they try to put the vit./min. back in by using sources that our bodies can’t even recognize anyway! (For example, getting calcium from shellfish… yes shellfish contains calcium, but our bodies can’t recognize shellfish shell as food and therefore does not absorb.) Why would they do all of this you ask? Well, the main reason they homogenize is so that the cream won’t separate from the rest (which is what it naturally does) and then it can be mass produced and sit in a store for awhile.

Raw milk (bought locally of course) can last for a couple weeks before tasting funky (or what I like to call ‘cowy’) and even then you can turn it into cream cheese and whey or cheese or yogurt! It gave me and my baby great nutrients while I was pregnant and took away that terrible heartburn. So, if you think you want to check this out some more, www.rawmilkfacts.com is an excellent source of information. I also make yogurt and cheeses and stuff with my milk, so be sure to keep an eye out for my recipe posts!!

Love, Alisha

Look at that beautiful raw-milk-grown face!! 🙂

 

Leave a comment