love painting rainbows

living love and creating rainbows

Poopies and Paper Towels August 4, 2011

Filed under: Discovering Health and Fun — lovepaintingrainbows @ 4:03 am

So, today was an exciting day of cleaning a large load of poop off of the floor. Mathias has started to eat more solids (kind of). It mostly consists of peaches and goat yogurt… which apparently causes large, chunky bowel movements that explode out of diapers. Anyway, this also caused me to almost run out of wipes and therefore I had to make some more and I remembered that I should share this really easy recipe because it’s so awesome. I have already posted this on Facebook also, but here it is again for those who didn’t get to see it!

1 to 2 containers (I got plastic ones at Walmart that look like this)

Bounty paper towels (one at a time) be sure to use Bounty b/c they are the strongest

1 cup warm water

1 tablespoon liquid soap (I love Dr. Bronner’s)

To start, cut your paper towel roll in half and remove the cardboard center. Then put a half in the container. (I bought two containers and just make two deals of wipes each time) Then mix your soap into the warm water until well blended. Pour the mix over the paper towels in the container. Put the lid on and let absorb! They should be ready in an hour or however long it takes to soak up. So easy and cheap and gentle to your babe’s bum!

Here is a picture of mine

I hope this is helpful to you and may it clean lots of poopy bottoms and not carpet! ๐Ÿ™‚

Love, Alisha

 

4 Responses to “Poopies and Paper Towels”

  1. Cassi Says:

    This recipe is genius! We tried cloth wipes and we were not fans because we did not want enjoy spraying them along with the diapers. These seem like a great solution! When we run out I will definitely be trying this recipe! Can you tell me where to buy the liquid soap?

    • alisha Says:

      Awesome! Yeah, I considered cloth wipes because some other friends are doing it… but then I was like, ‘I don’t think I’m going to like this…’ ๐Ÿ™‚ You should be able to find the soap at natural foods places that carry whole foods and supplements. You may actually be able to order it online for cheaper. I attached a link to the word “Dr. Bronner’s” that should give you some options. I usually use the No Scent: Baby Sensitive, but I’m thinking about trying the Almond or Lavender as well. They have lots of options! Good luck!

  2. Tonya Says:

    another option is to leave the cardboard center in and remove when wet and easier to remove….altho’ it may be easier to get the papertowels in w/o the center….
    love your posts!!!!

    • thanks!! ๐Ÿ™‚ ya, I accidentally got the double rolls which barely fit in my container! I discovered that if you find the beginning of the spiral in the cardboard and start peeling it until it stops, you then just kind of squish it, it comes out fairly easy after.


Leave a Reply

