love painting rainbows

living love and creating rainbows

Farmer’s Market Treasures August 8, 2011

Filed under: Discovering Health and Fun — lovepaintingrainbows @ 7:28 pm

I so love the Farmer’s Market! Homemade jewelry and crafts, knitted and crocheted items, basket weaving, balloon animals, flowers, plants, herbs, honey, and of course all the FOOD! How can you not love it?! Well, I must admit the recent raging heat has made it not so enjoyable (also aiding in less produce)… but, this last Saturday morning market was beautiful! There seemed to be much more produce and I went early enough that the heat wasn’t unbearable yet. Here’s a picture of some of my lovely finds from the most recent trip.

Not only are there good, local finds, but they are usually a lot more affordable than going to the grocery store! Especially if you’re looking for stuff not saturated in pesticides, herbicides, and well, poison. However, I have learned that one must ask each vendor if they spray or not because some do. Sometimes you can notice a price difference because of this, but I feel that it is worth it.

Also, I have found a couple of handy-dandy lists that aid in my choosing an organic to non-organic item. The “Dirty Dozen” is a list of the 12 produce items with the greatest amounts of toxins on them. The “Clean Fifteen” is a list with the 15 cleanest produce items that you can be a little more lenient about. This is so helpful! I don’t feel stressed to get ALL organic stuff. So, I thought I would share the good news with you and post the lists on here.

Dirty Dozen:                                                                                                           

Apples

Celery

Strawberries

Peaches

Spinach

Nectarines (imported)

Grapes (imported)

Bell Peppers

Potatoes

Blueberries (domestic)

Lettuce

Kale/Collard Greens

Clean Fifteen:

Onions

Sweet Corn

Pineapple

Avocado

Asparagus

Sweet Peas

Mangoes

Eggplant

Cantaloupe (domestice)

Kiwi

Cabbage

Watermelon

Sweet Potatoes

Grapefruit

Mushrooms

I hope this is helpful for you and your adventures in food and health! If you’ve never been to the market here in Wichita at 21st and Ridge on a Saturday morning, I highly recommend that you try it at least once in your life! Sorry if you hate it afterwards… but I doubt you will 🙂

Love, Alisha

 

Leave a Reply

