love painting rainbows

living love and creating rainbows

Tomatoes and Shampoo… but not together September 6, 2011

Filed under: Recipes — lovepaintingrainbows @ 9:54 pm

Two new things are happenin’ for me currently! First, I just ordered a half bushel of tomatoes and thus have canned lots of tomato sauce! Yum! This was my first attempt with doing tomatoes and I’m very excited about it, if you couldn’t tell. I did two different recipes that my lovely friend Tonya gave to me. She gave me a quart of hers last year (along with a TON of other food) after I had Mathias and let me tell you I used it SO sparingly so that it would last as long as possible! Now, I have 9 quarts of it in my pantry! 🙂 yay!

Number 2 for my “current happenin’s” is I started doing a “no poo” shampoo. (FYI: this has nothing to do with poop). I had heard about this before and then another lovely friend of mine, Lezlee, started doing this recently with great success. Essentially, you just use baking soda and apple cider vinegar. Don’t stop reading!!! It’s not weird or stinky, I promise! Quantities vary depending on what your hair and scalp need, but here is a basic recipe to follow:

1T. Baking Soda mixed with just enough water to create a sort of runny paste. Scrub onto your scalp starting with the crown of the head, working out (this technique promotes hair growth). Rinse.

Next take 1T. Apple Cider Vinegar with about 1T. water and pour it over your hair (I dunked my ends in first). Let sit for a couple minutes (while you wash your body or something). Rinse and you’re done! There are a couple of modifications if you so desire. If your hair is too oily you can add lemon juice to the baking soda, or if it is too dry you can add honey!

Just google it and you can read all kinds of stories about it. I have only done it once, but I am happy with the results already! They do say that you might have a couple weeks of adjusting until your scalp learns the right amount of oil to produce.

Next on the list? Apples!! I can’t wait to order my apples this year and make apple sauce and can a bunch for pies and cobblers! YUM. I love this time of year…

Hope you are getting to bask in the beautiful weather!

Love, Alisha

 

2 Responses to “Tomatoes and Shampoo… but not together”

  1. Chelsey Says:

    I tried the ‘no poo’ method a while back for a couple months to experiment. When I got the portions right my hair curled like crazy! They (whom ever they are) say that the baking soda strips all the chemicals out and really restores your hair back to its natural state. Also, a warning if anyone dyes their hair it will strip the dyed color right out. I did quit using the no poo method though. I am however still using apple cider vinegar for my conditioner and it works wonderfully! Thanks for sharing this Alisha!

    • Awesome! I didn’t know you tried it! My scalp has been bothering me lately so I decided to try it and as soon as I poured the vinegar over it my scalp felt sooo good! It was amazing. It ended up being a tad dry (static-y) so I’m going to try adding the honey next time and see what happens. Thanks for the extra info!


Leave a Reply

