love painting rainbows

living love and creating rainbows

A Journey in Humility September 17, 2011

Filed under: Spiritual Journies — lovepaintingrainbows @ 8:43 pm

Being humbled seems to be a theme for my life right now. I keep finding myself upset or frustrated, or just plain pissed off at someone or something only to soon after be humbled. And humbled HARD. Like knocked down onto my butt humbled. Which is a good thing because the “bruised butt” makes sure that I don’t forget for awhile.

It’s so easy to be consumed by negativity sometimes… I guess because the frustration builds up and it just feels so good to “vent” out those bottled feelings. Cutting down always makes us feel better… (at the time anyways). Thankfully God has placed some really awesome people and circumstances in my life to keep me accountable to good thoughts and words. I had a friend the other day remind me while I was listing off my frustrations about someone that this someone admires my good qualities even though I don’t “feel the love” sometimes. Boom, knocked on my butt. Wow, I can be such a jerk sometimes… (sorry if any of you reading this have experienced my “jerkiness”). This friend said the most simple, honest, and loving thing she knew to be true and my entire spirit changed right then and there.

These instances have happened like five times in the last week. Not that I’m constantly griping… but when I start feeling strong negativity towards some thing/one I soon after am divinely reminded that those thoughts are not my true self. I turn in towards The Spirit and am humbled. Learning to overcome pride is one of the hardest things to learn, but so wonderful. I am so glad that I am learning this right now in my life. It makes life more peaceful and enjoyable.

Here’s one of my favorite verses/songs fitting for this:

He has shown thee, oh man, what is good and what the Lord requires of thee. But to do justly, and to love mercy, and to walk humbly with thy God. ~Micah 6:8

And a few other quotes that are healing to my mind and spirit:

Do you wish to rise? Begin by descending. You plan a tower that will pierce the clouds? Lay first the foundation of humility. ~Saint Augustine

Humility is not cowardice. Meekness is not weakness. Humility and meekness are indeed spiritual powers. ~Swami Sivananda

Humility is nothing else but a right judgment of ourselves. ~William Law

Humility, that low, sweet root, from which all heavenly virtues shoot. ~Thomas Moore

I claim to be a simple individual liable to err like any other fellow mortal. I own, however, that I have humility enough to confess my errors and to retrace my steps. ~Gandhi

We all mess up… but lets all fix it when we do and work to not mess up so much. I hope this was water for your spirit today. May we be full of humility enough to love each other through all of our weak spots.

Love, Alisha

 

4 Responses to “A Journey in Humility”

  1. Cassi Says:

    I LOVE your honesty. So much.
    Here’s a song that came to mind while reading your Micah verse.

    (I didn’t watch the video, but it was the only place I could find the recording with Chris Tomlin and Steven Curtis Chapman)

  2. Cammie Says:

    I struggle with this also. It’s SO true—negativity happens, and it happens fast. When I’m really busy at work, I find myself resorting to negativity and not treating people the way I want to treat them. I’m quicker to notice their flaws…what annoys me about them. But the reality is, THAT’S annoying…who wants to hang with someone whose always annoyed and talking bad about people? I probably walk around with a sour look on my face, too!

    In those times, I always think of the song Don’t Worry, Be Happy. “When you worry your face will frown, and that will bring everybody down. Don’t worry…be happy!”

    Love you!

    • Yes! I turn on my pandora reggae station when I need a little lift 🙂 It’s always nice to hear when we’re not the only ones struggling, but still trying and then encouraging others to keep trying too. Thanks.
      Love you too sister!


Leave a Reply

