love painting rainbows

living love and creating rainbows

Monday Munchies October 17, 2011

Filed under: Recipes — lovepaintingrainbows @ 2:22 pm

I have been wanting to start a food day blog where I share recipes, but my procrastination has gotten the best of me once again. And I was waiting for the perfect alliteration to hit me. Then, while sitting here on this glorious Autumn morning, sipping my hot chai tea, listening to the Fleet Foxes (if you have never heard of them, you must check them out here; they are one of my “soul’s music”) “Monday Munchies” smacked me in the face with all of its Autumn-day-inspired glory.

I have been looking for the perfect pizza crust recipe for a while now. One that doesn’t require yeast (because I try to avoid yeast, and I am lazy). I have a pretty good recipe that is basically flour, oil, and milk that works well, but it just doesn’t cut it when you want that really good slightly crispy, slightly doughy texture. Then… it happened. On accident. A wonderful accident. It was SO so so good. The crust was perfect, and I used the pizza sauce that I canned a couple of months ago. I of course didn’t get a picture because it was so good we just ate it all up before I thought to. But, I will try to get it next time. However, I have put a picture up of the one that came from a recipe that inspired mine.

It is a soaked crust, which means you soak it for 7-12 hours using a fermented product such as buttermilk, yogurt, kefir, or whey, and water. This helps to start breaking down the flour so that it is easy for your body to digest. It works great and we do it for pretty much all of our flour products like oatmeal, waffles, pancakes, or bread. Check out my food bible Nourishing Traditions for more awesomeness like this!

Check out the blog mommypotamus.com where I found this and lots of other cool stuff!

Soaked Pizza Crust

1c. Spelt Flour (or Whole Wheat Flour)

1/2c. Flaxseed Meal

1c. Water

2T. Kefir (or buttermilk, yogurt, or whey)

Mix all of these together, cover, and leave set out for 7-12 hours.

Preheat oven to 375*F, then add the following:

3/4t. Baking Powder

1/2t. Sea Salt

1 1/2oz. Olive Oil

1/3c. Milk

Mix well. This should be the consistency of a thick, ball of dough that you can work with your hands now. Use as much extra flour as needed to knead the dough without it sticking to you. Knead for about a minute. Roll out onto floured pizza stone, or baking pan. Roll out over edges and then fold the edges over for crust (optional). Bake for 20min. and then poke holes all over with a fork (to release the air) and bake for another 10min.

Throw on your toppings and bake/broil until cheese is perfectly melted!

I hope you enjoy this as much as we did! Enjoy these beautiful Autumn days while we still have them!

Love, Alisha

 

Leave a Reply

